Salad!

Every day for lunch, I now make a salad.

Salad1

These pictures were taken a few days ago, but I’m going to be making the same exact thing today for lunch, so might as well use the pictures I already have.

It’s a kickass salad containing Green Leaf Romaine lettuce, a handful of spinach, 3 heirloom carrots (usually a white, purple and orange one), 3-5 cherry heirloom tomatoes, a whole diced up avocado, a handful of chopped fresh cilantro, 2 stalks of celery, half a sliced up cucumber, a large handful of chopped up red cabbage, and a handful of black olives.

On top of all of that I put my kickass Paleoish Oil & Vinegar Dressing, and a sprinkling of shredded cheddar cheese. (Not Paleo, but a tiny sprinkling of ‘hard’ cheese hurts nothing, and even though I’m lactose intolerant, it’s not enough to bother me.)

Then on top of all of that, I add protein. Something stir fried if I make the time to do so, or lunch meat if I’m in a super hurry. And no ‘lunch meat’ usually isn’t very Paleo, but protein or no protein sometimes with kids and a very limited budget you have to decide just ‘how’ Paleo you are going to be that day and still eat decently.

In the pictures I’ve stir fried beef, which is what I’m going to be doing today.
The kid loves my salads. Sucks them down like a vacuum cleaner. The wife however, doesn’t do raw veggies. At all, never has, outright refuses. However, she WILL eat raw spinach as long as it has bacon bits and cheese on it, so we’ve reached an accord. So she just gets a spinach salad, with no dressing and with whatever protein I’m making. She’s very much down with stir fried dead critters, so that’s a big hit.

Here is a closer look at the salad:

Salad2

Mmmm!

Personal Note…

Current weight: 209

Leave a Reply

